Search your Topic HERE....

June 12, 2019

Meet the winner of 54th Jnanpith Award - Amitav Ghosh

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

One of India’s leading contemporary English writers, Amitav Ghosh was conferred the 54th Jnanpith award for the year2018 for his outstanding contribution in English. With this, Ghosh has became the 1st English writer to get this presetegious award.

The author received the award from former Governor of West Bengal Gopalkrishna Gandhi at a function in New Delhi today.

About Amitav Ghosh

Born in Kolkata, Ghosh who spent his formative years in India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka has studied in Delhi, Oxford and Alexandria. He has earlier won the Sahitya Akademi Award for his much-loved novel, The Shadow Lines (1988).

The works of Amitav Ghoshportray a vast range of subjects.Some of his famous works are :
  • The Circle of Reason (1986)
  • The Shadow Lines (1988)
  • In an Antique Land (1992)
  • The Calcutta Chromosome (1995)
  • The Glass Palace (2000)
  • The Imam and the Indian (2002)
  • The Hungry Tide (2004)
  • Sea of Poppies (2008)
  • River of Smoke (2011)
  • Flood of Fire (2015)
  • The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable (2016)
  • Gun Island (2019)

About Jnanpith Award

  • Jnanpith Award is an India's Highest literary award presented annually by the Bharatiya Jnanpith, a literary and research organization to an author for the "outstanding contribution towards literature".
  • This award was first instituted in the year 1961.
  • This award comprises a citation plaque, a cash prize of ₹11 lakh, and a bronze replica of goddess Saraswati.
  • First winner of this award : G. Sankara Kurup (Malayalam)
  • Last Year's Winner of this award : Krishna Sobti (Hindi)
sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...