Search your Topic HERE....

November 29, 2018

Meet the new Head of UPSC - Arvind Saxena

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

President Ramnath Kovind today appointed Arvind Saxena as the new Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), which conducts examination to select bureaucrats, diplomats and police officers. 

Mr Saxena has been working as acting head of the UPSC since June 20. He joined the organization as a Member on May 8, 2015.

Prior to joining UPSC, Mr Saxena was working as Director of the Aviation Research Centre (ARC).

A student of Civil Engineering at the Delhi College of Engineering besides M.Tech. in Systems Management from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), New Delhi, Mr Saxena was selected for the Civil Services and joined the Indian Postal Service in 1978.

In 1988, he started working at the Cabinet Secretariat, where he specialised in the study of strategic developments in neighbouring countries.

He has served in different countries and in the States of Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab and Himachal Pradesh.

He was also awarded Meritorious Services (2005) and Distinguished Services (2012), conferred by the Prime Minister of India. He continued to head the ARC till he demitted the charge in May 2015 to join UPSC as a member.

The term of his appointment will be till August 7, 2020 when he attains the age of 65 years or till further orders whichever is earlier.

About UPSC : 
UPSC (Union Public Service Commission)  is India's central agency authorised to conduct the Civil Services Examination, Indian Forest Service examination, Engineering Services Examination, Combined Defence Services Examination, National Defence Academy Examination, Naval Academy Examination, Combined Medical Services Examination, Special Class Railway Apprentice, Indian Economic Service/Indian Statistical Service Examination, Combined Geoscientist and Geologist Examination, and Central Armed Police Forces(Assistant Commandant) Examinations. 

Important Points to Note about UPSC :
  • Formed on : 1st October 1926
  • Headquarters : Dholpur House, Shahjahan Road, New Delhi
  • Chairperson : Arvind Saxena
sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...