Search your Topic HERE....

June 15, 2017

Meet the Winner of Man Booker International Prize 2017 - David Grossman (A Horse Walks Into a Bar)

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

Israeli author David Grossman won this year's Man Booker International 2017. He was honored with this £50,000 ($64,000) award for his novel titled "A Horse Walks Into a Bar". With this, he became the first Israeli writer to win Man Booker International Prize. He will share this award with translator Jessica Cohen.

About David Grossman :
  • He is an Israeli author. His books have been translated into more than 30 languages.
  • Awards Received by Him :
    • 2017 - Man Booker International Prize
    • 2015 - St. Louis Literary Award
    • 2011 - JQ Wingate Prize
    • 2010 - Peace Prize of the German Book Trade
    • 2008 - Geschwister-Scholl-Preis
    • 2007 - Ischia International Journalism Award
    • 2007 - Emet Prize
    • 2004 - Bialik Prize
    • 2004 - JQ Wingate Prize
    • 2001 - Sapir Prize
    • 1993 - Bernstein Prize
    • 1985 - Bernstein Prize
  • Some of his Famous Books :
    • The Smile of the Lamb
    • Duel
    • Sleeping on a Wire: Conversations with Palestinians in Israel
    • The Yellow Wind
    • To the End of the Land
    • See Under : Love
    • To the End of the Land
    • Death as a Way of Life: Israel Ten Years after Oslo
About A Horse Walks Into a Bar
  • This novel is about a failing stand-up comic and his final performance. Set in a small Israeli town, the novel is focused entirely on the act of comedian Dovaleh Greenstein. Taking to the stage to needle his audience with vulgar and aggressive jokes, Greenstein’s repellent performance begins to crumble as he reveals a fateful and gruesome decision he once made, which has haunted him ever since.
About Man Booker International Prize
  • This is an international literary award, which was hosted by Britain. 
  • This award was introduced in 2004 to complement the Man Booker Prize. 
  • This award was sponsored by the Man Group. 
  • From 2005 until 2015 the award was given every two years to a living author of any nationality for a body of work published in English or generally available in English translation. 
  • Beginning in 2016, the award was significantly reconfigured. It is now given annually to a single book in English translation, with a £50,000 prize for the winning title, shared equally between author and translator. T
  • Last year the prize was awarded to "The Vegetarian" by South Korea's Han Kang.
Important Note : Man Booker and Man Booker International Prizes are Different.
sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...