Search your Topic HERE....

February 16, 2017

5 new Judges were Appointed to the Supreme Court

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

The government today appointed five new judges to the Supreme Court.  

The newly appointed Judges are :
  • Sanjay Kishan Kaul - Chief Justices of the High Court of Madras
  • Dipak Gupta - Chief Justices of the High Court of Chhattisgarh
  • Mohan M. Shantanagoudar - Chief Justices of the High Court of Kerala
  • S. Abdul Nazeer - Chief Justices of the High Court of Karnataka
  • Navin Sinha - Chief Justices of the High Court of Rajasthan
They will be sworn in tomorrow. Their names had been recommended by the Supreme Court collegium in January. Under the collegium system, a group of the five senior-most Supreme Court judges appoints other judges to the higher judiciary—the high courts and the Supreme Court. Articles 124 and 217 of the Constitution stipulate that judges will be appointed by the President of India after “consultation” with the chief justice of India and other judges.

The fresh appointments will take the number of Supreme Court judges to 28.  The Supreme Court has a total sanctioned strength of 31  judges.

Note : Chief Justice of India J S Khehar, Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose and Justice Prafulla Chandra Pant are retiring from the SC this year.

sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...