Search your Topic HERE....

December 24, 2016

Meet the winner of 52nd Jnanpith Award Winner - Shankha Ghosh

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

Veteran Bengali poet and literary critic Shankha Ghosh has been choosen for this year's Jnanpith Award 2016 - India's highest literary award.  The award is given for exceptional contribution in the fielf of literature. He is the 52nd recipient of Jnanpith Award. The decision was announced by the Jnanpith Board in New Delhi yesterday. He is sixth Bengali litterateur to bag this prestigious literary award after Tarasankar Bandyopadhyay (1966), Bishnu Dey (1971), Ashapoorna Devi (1976), Subhash Mukhopadhyay (1991) and Mahasweta Devi (1966).

About Jnanpith Award

  • Jnanpith Award is an India's Highest literary award presented annually by the Bharatiya Jnanpith, a literary and research organization to an author for the "outstanding contribution towards literature".
  • This award was first instituted in the year 1961.
  • This award comprises a citation plaque, a cash prize of ₹11 lakh, and a bronze replica of goddess Saraswati.
  • First winner of this award : G. Sankara Kurup (Malayalam)
  • Recent Winner of this award : Shankha Ghosh (Bengali)

About Shankha Ghosh

  • He is a  Bengali pet and critic.
  • He is regarded a leading authority on Rabindranath in addition to being one of the most prolific writers in Bengali.
  • Some of his famous poems:
    • Adim lata-gulmomay
    • Kabir abhipray
    • Murkha baro, samajik nay
    • Mukh dheke jay bigyapane
    • Babarer prarthana
    • Dinguli Raatguli
    • Nihita Patalchaya
  • Some of the Famous Awards received by him :
    • 1977 - Narsingh Das Puraskar (for Muurkha baro, saamaajik nay)
    • 1977 - Sahitya Akademi Award (for Baabarer praarthanaa)
    • 1989 - Rabindra-Puraskar (for Dhum legechhe hrit kamale)
    • 1989 - Saraswati Samman (for his anthology Gandharba Kabitaguccha)
    • 1999 - Sahitya Akademi Award (for translation of raktakalyaan)
    • 1999 - Desikottam by Visva-Bharati
    • 2011 - Padma Bhushan Award
    • 2015 - Hall of Fame Lifetime Achievement "Sahityabrahma" Award by the World Forum for Journalists and Writers (WFJW)
    • 2015 - D.Litt by Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur
    • 2016 - Jnanpith Award by the Government of India
sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...