Search your Topic HERE....

July 01, 2016

Important Details you should know about LCA Tejas Aircraft

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

The Indian Air Force (IAF) today inducted the first squadron of indigenous Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) "Tejas" with two fighter planes joining the force in Bengaluru. State-run HAL handed over the first two Tejas aircraft to IAF, which makes up the first squadron named ‘Flying Daggers’. This is a major milestone in the military aviation in the country. Here are some important points you should know about Tejas.

Important Details you should know about TEJAS

  • 1967 : IAF had formed the first operational squadron with the indigenous HF-24 Marut fighter.
  • 1984 : The government of India first moved decisively to kick-start the process to build an indigenous aircraft. Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) was set up by the government to develop the programme.
  • 1986 : Rs 575 crores were allocated by the then government towards funding the programme.
  • 4th January 2001
  • The light combat aircraft made its first flight, a milestone in the Indian aviation industry. 
  • Then Prime Minister Atal Behari Vajpayee named the aircraft ‘Tejas’ – which means ‘radiance’ in Sanskrit.
  • The induction of Tejas comes at an important time when the IAF has wanted to desperately replace it with the ageing fleet of MiG-21, responsible for so many crashes.
  • The aircraft is equipped to handle air-to-air missiles, air-to-surface missiles, anti-ship missiles, bombs and rockets.
  • The aircraft’s structure is composed of 42% carbon fibre composites, 43% aluminium alloy and the remainder titanium alloy.
  • The aircraft is being developed in single-seat fighter and twin-seat trainer variants for the IAF and the Navy.
  • Earlier this year, the aircraft participated in its first foreign show at the Bahrain International Air Show 2016 where aircraft enthusiasts compared it to Pakistan’s JF-17 Thunder, that was produced with the help of China.
  • It is considered to be the lightest multi-role supersonic aircraft of its class.
  • The aircraft can travel at a maximum speed of 2,205 km/hr for FOC version and 2,000 km/hr for IOC version.
Bhawatarini Nagendran

sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...