Search your Topic HERE....

July 12, 2016

Meet the 51st Jnanpith Award Winner - Dr. Raghuveer Chaudhari

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

President Pranab Mukherjee today conferred the 51st Jnanpith Award, India’s highest literary honour on renowned Gujarati writer and litterateur Dr. Raghuveer Chaudhari at a function in New Delhi. Mr. Chaudhari is the fourth Gujarati litterateur to be honored with Jnanpith Award after Uma Shankar Joshi (1967), Pannalal Patel (1985) and Rajendra Shah (2001). Here are some important points to note.

About Jnanpith Award

  • Jnanpith Award is an India's Highest literary award presented annually by the Bharatiya Jnanpith, a literary and research organization to an author for the "outstanding contribution towards literature".
  • This award was first instituted in the year 1961.
  • This award comprises a citation plaque, a cash prize of ₹11 lakh, and a bronze replica of goddess Saraswati.
  • First winner of this award : G. Sankara Kurup (Malayalam)
  • Recent Winner of this award : Raghuveer Chaudhari (Gujarati)

About Raghuveer Chaudhari

  • He is a Gujarati Novelist, Poet and Critic.
  • He was a teacher at the Gujarat University until his retirement in 1998.
  • He has also worked as a columnist for numerous newspapers, such as Sandesh, Janmabhumi, Nirikshaka and Divya Bhaskar.

Awards received:

  • 1965 : Kumar Chandrak 
  • 1974-75 : Uma-Snehrashmi Prize
  • 1975 : Ranjitram Suvarna Chandrak
  • 1977 : Sahitya Akademi Award (for his trilogy novel Uparvas, Sahwas and Antarvas)
  • 1990 :Sauhard Samman from Uttar Pradesh Hindi Sansthaan 
  • 1997 : Munshi Award 
  • 2001 : Sahitya Gaurav Puraskar 
  • 2010 : Narmad Suvarna Chandrak
  • 2015 : Jnanpith Award 
His famous Novels: 
  • Amrita  
  • Ek Dag Aagal Be Dag Paachhal
  • Purvarang and Laagni
  • Rudramahalaya
  • Samjyaa Vinaa Chhuta Padavun
  • Somtirth
  • Uparvas, Sahwas and Antarvas
  • Venu Vatsala  
sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...