Search your Topic HERE....

July 11, 2016

2016 Wimbledon Championships Winners List

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

The 130th edition of Wimbledon Championships 2016 was held from 27th June 2016 to 10th July 2016 at All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in Wimbledon, London. This is the Oldest tennis tournament in the world. This is one of the 4 grand slam tennis tournaments (others are Australian Open, French Open and US Open). Here is the complete winners list of this tournament. Happy Reading :)

Wimbledon Championships 2016 Winners List

  • Men’s Singles : Andy Murray (Britain) by beating Milos Raonic (Canada).
    • Important Points to Note :
    • It was his second Wimbledon title after he had won it for first time in 2013. 
    • This was Murray’s third Wimbledon final.
    • Since the 2013 Wimbledon final, Murray has played three and lost all Grand Slam finals, coincidentally to Djokovic, until this win.
  • Women’s Singles : Serena Williams (US) by beating Angelique Kerber (Germany) 
    • Important Points to Note : 
    • It is Williams’ seventh Women’s Singles Wimbledon title (2002, 2003, 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2015) and overall 22nd Grand Slam title. 
      • This is her 22nd Grand Slam. 
  • Men’s Doubles : Pierre-Hugues Herbert (France) and Nicolas Mahut (France) by beating Julien Benneteau (France) and Édouard Roger-Vasselin (France)
  • Women’s Doubles : Serena Williams (US) and Venus Williams (US) by beating Tímea Babos (Hungary) and Yaroslava Shvedova (Kazakhstan)
    • Important Points to Note : 
    • This is their sixth Wimbledon doubles title.
    • This is the fourth time Serena has won both singles and doubles titles in a single year, while Venus has done it twice herself.
  • Mixed Doubles : Henri Kontinen (Finland) and Heather Watson (United Kingdom) by beating Robert Farah (Colombia) and Anna-Lena Grönefeld (Germany).
sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...