Search your Topic HERE....

October 06, 2020

Meet the winners of Nobel Prize in Physics 2020

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has announced the winners of 2020 Nobel Prize in Physics. This year there are 3 awardees. One half of the Nobel Physics prize will be given to Roger Penrose for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity” and the other half jointly given to Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the centre of our galaxy.”

These three laureates share this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics for their discoveries about one of the most exotic phenomena in the universe, the black hole. Roger Penrose showed that the general theory of relativity leads to the formation of black holes. Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez discovered that an invisible and extremely heavy object governs the orbits of stars at the centre of our galaxy. A supermassive black hole is the only currently known explanation.

The discoveries of this year’s laureates have broken new ground in the study of compact and supermassive objects. But these exotic objects still pose many questions that beg for answers and motivate future research. Not only questions about their inner structure, but also questions about how to test our theory of gravity under the extreme conditions in the immediate vicinity of a black hole,” said David Haviland, chair of the Nobel Committee for Physics.

sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...