Search your Topic HERE....

March 07, 2019

Govt to release Rs. 20 Coin : First Look & Highlights

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

Almost 10 years after the issue of the Rs. 10 Coin (released in March 2009), the Indian government is set to release a new Rs. 20 coin with One-Of-A-Kind Shape. In a recently released notification, the Finance Ministry has announced that the new coin will be shaped like a 12-edged polygon (dodecagon)

Unlike the circular 10-rupee coin, which is also 27 mm in diameter and has 100 serrations on its edge, the 20-rupee coin will not have any marks on its edge. But like the 10-rupee coin, it will be two-toned. While the outer ring will be 65 per cent copper, 15 per cent zinc and 20 per nickel, the inner disc will be 75 per cent copper, 20 per cent zinc and five percent nickel. 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi today released the new series of "visually impaired friendly circulation" coins (Re 1, Rs 2, Rs 5, Rs 10 and Rs 20). Except for the Rs 20 coin, the rest of the denominations will be round in shape. Here are the major highlights of the new Rs. 20 Coin.

Obverse :
  • The face of the coin will bear the Lion Capitol of Ashoka Pillar with the legend "Satyamev Jayate" inscribed below, flanked on the left periphery with the word "Bharat" in Hindi and on the right periphery with the word "INDIA" in English.
Reverse :
  • The face of the coin will bear denominational value "20"
  • The rupee symbol will be shown above the denominational value
  • The design of grains depicting the agricultural dominance of the country is flanked on the left periphery of the coin
  • The top right and bottom right peripheries will bear the word Rs 20 in Hindi and "TWENTY RUPEES" in English
  • The year of minting in international numerals will be shown on centre of left periphery of the coin
As per Coinage Act, 1906, the Government of India has the sole right to mint coins and the responsibility for coinage vests with the Government. Coins are minted at the 4 India Government Mints at Mumbai, Alipore (Kolkata), Saifabad (Hyderabad), Cherlapally (Hyderabad) and Noida (UP).  

Note : People have claimed that some traders have refused some variants of the 10-rupee coin, assuming them to be fake. Last year, the RBI issued a clarification saying that all 14 kinds of coins continue to be legal tender.

sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...