Search your Topic HERE....

May 23, 2018

Olga Tokarczuk (Flights) wins Man Booker International Prize 2018

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

Polish novelist Olga Tokarczuk won this year's Man Booker International Prize 2018. She was honored with this award for her novel titled 'Flights'. With this, Olga became the first Polish writer to receive the prestigious award. The £50,000 prize ($67,000) will be split evenly between the original writer Olga Tokarczuk and her translator, Jennifer Croft.  

About Olga Tokarczuk

  • She is one of the most critically acclaimed and commercially successful Polish writers of her generation.
  • Her book Bieguni (Runners) won the Nike Award 2008.
  • In 2015 Tokarczuk became a recipient of the German-Polish International Bridge Prize.
Some of her Notable works :
  • Primeval and Other Times
  • House of Day, House of Night Runners
  • The Books of Jacob
Awards Received by Her
  • Nike Award (2008, 2015)
  • Vilenica Prize (2013)
  • Brückepreis (2015)
  • The Man Booker International Prize (2018)

About Flights

Flights combines tales of modern-day travel with the story of a 17th century anatomist who dissected his own amputated leg and the journey of composer Frederic Chopin’s heart from Paris to Warsaw after his death.

The judging panel led by writer Lisa Appignanesi called the Flights a witty, playful novel in which “the contemporary condition of perpetual movement” meets the certainty of death.Flights beat five other finalists, including Iraqi writer Ahmed Saadawi’s horror story Frankenstein in Baghdad and South Korean author Han Kang’s meditative novel The White Book.

About Man Booker International Prize

  • This is an international literary award, which was hosted by Britain. 
  • This award was introduced in 2004 to complement the Man Booker Prize. 
  • This award was sponsored by the Man Group. 
  • From 2005 until 2015 the award was given every two years to a living author of any nationality for a body of work published in English or generally available in English translation. 
  • Beginning in 2016, the award was significantly reconfigured. It is now given annually to a single book in English translation, with a £50,000 prize for the winning title, shared equally between author and translator. T
  • Last year Israeli author David Grossman was honored with this award for his novel  "A Horse Walks Into a Bar".
Important Note : Man Booker and Man Booker International Prizes are Different.
sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...