Search your Topic HERE....

January 10, 2018

Meet the new chairman of ISRO - K. Sivan

sponsored links

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet today appointed the renowned scientist K. Sivan as the new Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). Mrs Sivan is currently working as the Director of Vikram Sarabhai Space Center, Thiruvananthapuram. He is going to replace A.S. Kiran Kumar, the current chairman of the ISRO (assumed office on 14 January 2015).

Sivan, popularly known as the Rocket Man of ISRO, has graduated from Madras Institute of Technology in aeronautical engineering in 1980 and completed Master of Engineering in Aerospace engineering from IISc, Bangalore in 1982. Subsequently, he completed his PhD in Aerospace engineering from IIT, Bombay in 2006.

He joined the ISRO in 1982 in PSLV project and has contributed immensely towards end to end mission planning, mission design, mission integration and analysis. He has designed a software called SITARA, which Isro uses for simulating trajectories of rockets.

Sivan has received numerous awards throughout his career which includes Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Sathyabama University, Chennai in April 2014 and Shri Hari Om Ashram Prerit Dr Vikram Sarabhai Research award for the year 1999.

His appointment comes at a time when Isro is planning to outsource construction activities of satellites and rockets for its future launches. 

sponsored links
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...