Search your Topic HERE....

November 19, 2017

Former PM Manmohan Singh awarded Indira Gandhi Peace Prize

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

Former prime minister Manmohan Singh was chosen for this year's prestigeous Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development 2017 for his leadership of the country between 2004 and 2014 and for enhancing India's stature globally.

Singh was unanimously chosen for the international award, named after former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi, for "improving India's stature in the world" and "for his contributions to the cause of economic and social development" by an international jury chaired by ex-president Pranab Mukherjee.

Mr Singh is only the 3rd Indian prime minister to complete two full terms as the PM. His tenure witnessed the path-breaking nuclear agreement with the US and the Copenhagen Climate Change agreement, a statement said.

Mr Singh, who as the governor of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) and the finance minister in the government headed by PV Narasimha Rao, played a pivotal role in ushering economic reforms, it said, adding that as prime minister he led India in achieving the highest sustained rate of economic growth since Independence.

About Indira Gandhi Peace Prize
The Indira Gandhi Peace Prize is an  international award named after former prime minister Indira Gandhi. This award was instituted in the year 1986. This award is also known as Indira Gandhi Prize / Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development.  The prize carries a cash award of 2.5 million Indian rupees and a citation. The last two recipients have been the Indian Space Research Organisation and the UN High Commission for Refugees.

sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...