Search your Topic HERE....

July 27, 2016

Two Indians win Ramon Magsaysay Award 2016

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation has today announced the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Awardees for the year 2016. Two Indians Bezwada Wilson and T.M. Krishna are among them. TM Krishna, an acclaimed Carnatic musician will receive the award for “social inclusiveness in culture,” while Bezwada Wilson, a social activist will receive the award for “asserting the inalienable right to a life of human dignity.” Apart from these two, other winners of this award for this year are Conchita Carpio-Morales from Philippines, Dompet Dhuafa from Indonesia, Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers and Vientiane Rescue from Laos.

About Ramon Magsaysay Award
  • The Ramon Magsaysay Award is one of Asia's most prestigious awards celebrating leadership in Asia. 
  • The awardees are presented with a certificate and a medallion with an embossed image of Ramon Magsaysay, former President of the Phillippines after whom the award is named. 
  • The awards will be presented on August 31 at a formal ceremony in Manila. 
Here is the complete winners list of Ramon Magsaysay Awardees of the year 2106.

Ramon Magsaysay Award winners 2016
  • T. M. Krishna (India - Chennai) : for social inclusiveness in culture
  • Bezwada Wilson (India - Karnataka) : for asserting the inalienable right to a life of human dignity
  • Conchita Carpio-Morales (Philippines) : for her work in “restoring faith in the rule of law”
  • Dompet Dhuafa (Indonesia) : for “expanding the transformative impact of zakat”, which in Islam is a form of alms-giving and religious tax.
  • Vientiane Rescue (a group from Laos) : its volunteering to save lives at risk.
  • Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers Building : for contributing “to the reconstruction and progress of developing countries” towards the goal of building a world of genuine solidarity.
Note : Among other Indians to win the award in the past are Sanjiv Chaturvedi (2015), Anshu Gupta (2015), Harish Hande (2012), Deepa Joshi (2009), P. Sainath (2007), V. Shantha (2005), Aruna Roy (2000), Kiran Bedi (1994), Ela Bhatt (1977), Baba Amte (1985) and Vinoba Bhave (1958).

sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...