Search your Topic HERE....

July 31, 2015

Science Quiz : India in Space - Part II

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

Dear friends, this is Navtej again. hope you are enjoying reading my posts on General Knowledge. Here I am sharing the Part II of Science Quiz : India in Space. You can read the Part I from here.
  • What is ISRO ?
    • ISRO (Indian Space Research Organization) is the organization which plans and implements the Space research programmes of India. It works under the department of Space. Bengaluru is it's headquarters. 
    • Important Details to Note :
      • Established on : 15th August 1969
      • Chairman : A S Kiran Kumar
      • Motto : Space Technology in the Service of Human Kind
  • Which are the units functioning in VSSC (Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre)
    • Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS)
    • Space Science and Technology Centre (SSTC)
    • Rocket Fabrication Facility (RFF)
    • Rocket Propellent Plant (RPP)
    • Reinforced Plastics Centre (REPLACE) Thiruvananthapuram
    • Valiamala Facilities, Thiruvananthapuram
    • Ammonium Per Chlorate Experimental Plant (APEP), Aluva
  • Other Space Research Institutions in India
    • ISRO Satellite Centre (ISAC), Bengaluru
    • Space Application Centre (SAC), Ahmedabad
    • Sri Hrikotah Range (SHAR), Nellor (Andhra Pradesh)
    • Auxiliary Propulsion Systems Unit (APSU) [Thiruvananthapuram, Mahendragiri and Bengaluru)
  • Which are the main wings of the Space Application Centre (SAC), Ahmedabad ?
    • Experimental Satellite Communication Earth Station (ESCES)
    • Satellite Communication System Division (SCSD)
    • Remote Sensing and Meterological Application Division (RSMD)
    • Software System Group (SSG)
    • Electro Wave Division (EWD)
  • Which are the wings of Sri Harikotah Range (SHAR) ?
    • Sri Harikotah Launch Complex (SLC)
    • Rocket Seld Facility (SLED)
    • Solid Propellent Space Booster Plant (SPROB)
    • Sri Hari Kotah Common Facilities (SCF)
    • Static Test and Evaluation Complex (STEX)
    • Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC), Mahendragiri (Tamil Nadu), Valiamala (Thiruvananthapuram)
    • National Remote Sensing Agency (NRSA) Hyderabad
    • INSAT Master Control Facility (MCF) Hassan
  • Where is the location of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre ?
    • Thumba in Thiruvananthapuram 
  • When was the first rocket launched from Thumba ? 
    • 21st November 1963 (Rocket for weather studies)
  • When was the Indian made rocket "Rohini"  launched from Thumba ?
    • 20th November 1967
  • When was the first satellite of India, Aryabhatta launched ?
    • 10th April 1975
  • The weight and diameter of Aryabhatta :
    • Weight : 360 kg
    • Diameter : 106 metres
    • Height : 116 cm
    • it had 26 phases
  • From where was Aryabhatta launched ?
    • from Russia by Russian vehicle 
  • The time taken by Aryabhatta for one revolution around the Earth :
    • 96.41 minutes (15 revolutions a day)
  • Of which metal was Aryabhatta made ?
    • A special alloy Aluminum 
  • Which institution designed Aryabhatta ?
    • I.S.S.P now known as ISAC (ISRO Satellite Centre)
That's all for today friends. In our next post we shall discuss the 3rd part of India in Science series followed by Atomic India and Solar Systems. Happy Reading :)
      sponsored links

      0 Responses:

      Post a Comment

      Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...