Search your Topic HERE....

October 02, 2018

Meet the Winners of Nobel Prize for Physics 2018

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm today announced the winners of Nobel Prize in Physics for the year 2018. 3 scientists Arthur Ashkin (US), Gérard Morou (France), and Donna Strickland ( Canada) won this year's award for their "inventions in laser physics".

Ashkin wins half of the prize for his development of “optical tweezers” which have allowed tiny organisms to be handled with light beams. Mourou and Strickland share a quarter of the prize each “for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses,” the Nobel committee said.

Important Points to Note :
  • With this award Donna Strickland becomes the 1st woman to win the physics Nobel since Maria Goeppert Mayer (honoured in 1963) for her work on the nuclear shell structure. Strickland is only the third woman in history to win the physics prize.
Last Year Winners :
US scientists Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish and Kip Thorne won Nobel Physics 2017 Prize  for their pioneering role in the detection of gravitational waves.
Physics is the second of this year's Nobel Prizes. The Nobel Prize for Physiology / Medicine 2018  was equally awarded to James P Allison and Tasuku Honjo for their 'Discovery of cancer therapy by inhibition of negative immune regulation'. The Nobel chemistry prize will be announced on Wednesday (3rd October 2018). The Nobel peace prize will be announced on Friday (5th October 2018), while the Economics prize will be announced on Monday (8th October 2018). This year’s Nobel Prize in literature has been postponed, following a sexual-harassment allegation.

sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...