Search your Topic HERE....

July 27, 2018

2 Indians in 60th Ramon Magsaysay Awardees 2018

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) has announced the 6 awardees who have made significant contributions to their communities and helped change the lives of the less fortunate.

Two Indians Bharat Vaswani, a psychiatrist who works for the mentally-ill street persons and innovator Sonam Wangchuk, whose initiative to harness science and culture creatively for economic progress improved the lives of the Ladakhi youth - were declared the winners of this year's Ramon Magsaysay Award 2018.

Here interesting point to note is, Sonam Wangchuk was the inspiration for the character Rancho in the movie '3 Idiots', has been awarded the 2018 Ramon Magsaysay Award for "harnessing nature, culture and education for community progress". Dr Bharat Vatwani, the other Indian to be awarded the prize this year, was honoured for "restoring health and dignity to troubled lives".

Here is the complete winners list of 60th Ramon Magsaysay Awards and their details. 

Ramon Magsaysay Awardees 2018

Sonam Wangchuk 
  • From : India
  • Honored for : “His uniquely systematic, collaborative andcommunity-driven reform of learning systems in remote northern India, thus improving the life opportunities of Ladakhi youth, and his constructive engagement of all sectors in local society to harness science and culture creatively for economic progress, thus setting an example for minority peoples in the world.”
Bharat Vatwani
  • From : India
  • Honored for : “His tremendous courage and healing compassion in embracing India’s mentally-afflicted destitute, and his steadfast and magnanimous dedication to the work of restoring and affirming the human dignity of even the most ostracized in ourmidst.”
Youk Chhang 
  • From : Cambodia
  • Honored for : “His great, unstinting labor in preserving the memory of the Cambodian genocide, and his leadership and vision in transforming the memory of horror into a process of attaining and preserving justice in his nation and the world.”
Maria de Lourdes Martins Cruz 
  • From : East Timor
  • Honored for : “Her pure humanitarianism in uplifting Timor Leste’s poor, her valiant pursuit of social justice and peace, and hernurturing the development of autonomous, self-reliant, caring citizens, so vital in new, post-conflict nationsin the world.”
Howard Dee 
  • From : Philippines
  • Honored for : “His quietly heroic half-century of service to the Filipino people, his abiding dedication to the pursuit of social justice and peace in achieving dignity and progress for the poor, and his being, by his deeds, a true servant of his Faith and an exemplarycitizen of his nation.”

Vo Thi Hoang Yen
  • From : Vietnam
  • Honored for : “Her dauntless spirit and prodigiousenergy in rising above her condition; her creative, charismatic leadership in the sustained campaign to break down physical and mental barriers that have marginalized PWDs in Vietnam; and for being a shining,inspirational model for the young in her country and elsewhere in the world.”
Senen Bacani, chairman of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation, said this year’s awardees were chosen based on their inspiring vision, creativity and leadership in addressing the problems in their own societies.

Established in 1957, the Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia's highest honour. These awards are regarded as the Asian version of the Nobel Prize.  This year's Magsaysay Award winners will each receive a certificate, a medallion bearing the likeness of the late President, and a cash prize.

sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...