Search your Topic HERE....

January 21, 2018

Meet the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India - Om Prakash Rawat

sponsored links

The government today appointed the Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat as the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India. He will replace Achal Kumar Jyoti, who recently stepped down from the post.

A 1977-batch IAS officer from the Madhya Pradesh cadre, Rawat will take charge from 22nd January 2018. He was appointed to the Election Commission in August 2015.

Born on 2nd December, 1953, he did his MSc. in Physics from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi and thereafter MSc. in Social Development Planning in 1989-90 in the United Kingdom.

The 64-year-old has held several important portfolios at Centre and state level during his long career. He will serve office as CEC till November next year.

Note : Ex-finance secretary Ashok Lavasa has been appointed as the new Election Commissioner and will replace Mr. Rawat.

sponsored links
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...