Search your Topic HERE....

October 18, 2017

Meet the Man Booker prize 2017 winner : George Saunders (Lincoln in the Bardo)

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

American writer George Saunders has won this year's Man Booker Prize 2017 for his novel Lincoln in the Bardo, a polyphonic symphony of a novel about restless souls adrift in the afterlife.  It is the second year in a row an American has won the prestegious, which was opened to U.S. authors in 2014. Last year, U.S author Paul Beatty has won this award for his novel "The Sellout".

About George Saunders :

Saunders is an American writer of short stories, essays, novellas, children's books, and a novel. He currently working as a professor at Syracuse University.

Books written by him :
  • CivilWarLand in Bad Decline (1996)
  • Pastoralia (2000)
  • The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip (2000)
  • The Brief and Frightening Reign of Phil (2005)
  • In Persuasion Nation (2006)
  • Tenth of December: Stories (2013)
  • A Two-Minute Note to the Future (2014)
  • Lincoln in the Bardo (2017)
Awards Received by him :
  • National Magazine Award for Fiction,
  • American Academy of Arts and Letters, Academy Award,
  • PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story
  • World Fantasy Award for Best Short Story
  • Folio Prize 2014

About the Book (Lincoln in the Bardo) :

The book is based on a real visit President Abraham Lincoln made in 1862 to the body of his 11-year-old son Willie at a Washington cemetery. By turns witty, bawdy, poetic and unsettling, Lincoln in the Bardo juxtaposes events from Lincoln’s life and the U.S. Civil War through passages from historians both real and fictional with a chorus of otherworldly characters who are dead, but unwilling or unable to let go of life.

Important Note

Don't be confused between Man Booker International Prize and Man Booker Prize. Both are different. You can check complete details about these two prizes and their differences from here.

Recent Winners :
  • Man Booker International Prize 2017 : Israeli author David Grossman has won the Man Booker International Prize on 15th June 2017 for her novel 'A Horse Walks into a Bar'.
  • Man Booker Prize 2017 : George Saunders (US) has won the Man Booker Prize for the year 2017 on 18th October 2017 for his book "Lincoln in the Bardo".
sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...