Search your Topic HERE....

July 04, 2017

Meet the New Chief Election Commissioner of India - Achal Kumar Joti

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

The government today appointed Election Commissioner Achal Kumar Joti as the next Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India. He is going to replace the current Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi who is going to retire on 6th July 2017. Joti will become 21st Chief Election Commissioner of India.  A CEC or an EC can have a tenure of six years or hold office till the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

Mr. Joti, a 1975-batch IAS officer who joined the three-member Commission as an Election Commissioner on May 8, 2015, will be in office till January 17, 2018.

Mr. Joti, who will be the 21st CEC, has also served as the Gujarat Vigilance Commissioner and worked in various capacities in the State, including as the chairman of the Kandla Port Trust between 1999 and 2004 and the managing director of the Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam Ltd. (SSNNL).

Until 1989, the Election Commission was a single member body. But now there are There are 3 Election Commissioners). As Joti, who was serving as Election Commisioner has became the CEC, one Election Commissioner post is vacant now. The government is expected to fill this position soon. Om Prakash Rawat is the other Election Commissioner.

sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...