Search your Topic HERE....

December 22, 2016

Sahitya Akademy Award 2016 Winners List

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

The Sahitya Akademi has announced today its annual Sahitya Akademi Award 2016 in 24 languages. Eight books of poetry, seven books of short stories, five books of novels, two books of criticism, one book of essays and a book of play have won the Sahitya Akademi Award this year. 

Eight poets honoured with the Award for the year 2016 are,
  1. Jnan Pujari (Assamese)
  2. Anju (Bodo)
  3. Kamal Vora (Gujarati)
  4. Prabha Varma (Malayalam)
  5. Sitanath Acharya (Sanskrit)
  6. Gobinda Chandra Majhi (Santali)
  7. Nand Javeri (Sindhi) 
  8. Papineni Sivasankar (Telugu)
Seven writers awarded for their short stories are,
  1. Chhatrapal (Dogri)
  2. Shyam Darihare (Maithili)
  3. Moirangthem Rajen (Manipuri)
  4. Asaram [ornate (Marathi)
  5. Paramita Satpathy (Odia)
  6. Bulaki Sharma (Rajasthani) 
  7. Vannadhasan (Tamil)
Five award winning Novelists are,
  1. Jerry Pinto (English)
  2. Npsira Sharma (Hindi)
  3. Boluwaru Mohammad Kunhi (Kannada)
  4. Edwin J.F.D-souza (Konkani) 
  5. Gita Upadhyay (Nepali)
Awards for Criticism,
  1. Aziz Hajini (Kashmiri) 
  2. Nizam Siddiqui (Urdu) 
Award for Essay
  • Nrisinghaprasad Bhaduri (Bengali) 
Award for Play
  • Swarajbir (Punjabi)
The books were selected on the basis of recommendations made by a Jury of three members in the concerned languages in accordance with the procedure laid down for the purpose. 

The Award in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl and a cheque of Rs. 1,00,000/- will be presented to the authors of these books at a special function to be held on 22 February 2017 at New Delhi during the Festival of Letters organized by Sahitya Akademi.

sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...