Search your Topic HERE....

October 14, 2015

Meet the winner of Man Booker Prize 2015

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

Jamaican novelist Marlon James has won Man Booker Prize 2015 for his novel A Brief History of Seven Killings by beating British-Indian Sunjeev Sahota and four other authors. With this achievement, he created history by becoming the first Jamaican writer to win the prestigious Man Booker Prize.

About Marlon James

  • He is from Jamaica
  • He has published Three Novels. They are,
    • The Book of Night Women - Published in 2009
    • John Crow's Devil - Published in 2010
    • A Brief History of Seven Killings - Published in 2014  (He won Man Booker Prize 2015
      for this book)

About A Brief History of Seven Killings

  • This reggae- and drug-infused novel was inspired by an attempt to kill reggae star Bob Marley in 1976.  
  • The 686-page novel, which uses Jamaican patois, Harlem slang and liberal doses of scatological language, tells the story of a gang of cocaine-fuelled ghetto kids armed with automatic weapons who tried but failed to kill Marley in the Jamaican capital Kingston before he gave a peace concert. 

About Man Booker Prize 2015

  • First Awarded in : 1969 
  • This prize carries a top cash award of ₤50,000 ($76,000)
  • Last year's winner : Richard Flanagan (Australian)  for his book “The Narrow Road to the Deep North” .
This year's Shortlisted Authors for Man Booker Prize 2015
  1. Marlon James (Jamaica), A Brief History of Seven Killings [Winner]
  2. Tom McCarthy (UK), Satin Island
  3. Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria), The Fishermen
  4. Sunjeev Sahota (UK), The Year of the Runaways [Indian origin author, couldn't make it to the finals selection]
  5. Anne Tyler (US), A Spool of Blue Thread
  6. Hanya Yanagihara (US), A Little Life
sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...