Search your Topic HERE....

October 07, 2014

Meet the Winners of Nobel prize in Physics 2014


sponsored links

Two Japanese scientists and an US scientist have won the prestigious Nobel Prize in Physics for the year 2014. Isamu Akasaki and Hiroshi Amano from Japan and Shuji Nakamura from United States were honored with the Nobel Physics Prize 2014 for the invention of blue light-emitting diodes a new energy efficient and environment-friendly light source. Prof Shuji Nakamura is a professor at the Materials Department of the College of Engineering, University of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB), Prof Isamu Akasaki  is a professor at Meijo University and distinguished professor at Nagoya University and Prof. Hiroshi Amano is also a professor at Nagoya University. 
The awarding committee said the trio's work is in keeping with the spirit of Alfred Nobel, the founder of the prize, because LED lights save on energy, last long and are environmentally-friendly because they don't contain mercury. For 30 years, these scientists had tried to create the blue diode. Last year’s Noble Physics award went to Britain’s Peter Higgs and Belgian colleague Francois Englert for helping to explain how matter formed after the Big Bang (Check details from here). The Nobel prizes in Medicine 2014   was already announced (check details here). The Nobel Prizes 2014 for chemistry, literature and economic sciences will be announced later this week, as will the Nobel Peace Prize.

sponsored links


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...