Search your Topic HERE....

August 29, 2016

Important : India's Rio Olympic Stars Conferred the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

India's Rio Olympic stars PV Sindhu, Sakshi Malik, Dipa Karmakar and Jitu Rai were conferred the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awards today. President Pranabh Mukherjee presented the awards at a sports awards ceremony in New Delhi. 15 sportspersons were honoured with the Arjuna Award and three with the Dhyan Chand Award.

Besides, the Punjabi University of Patiala was awarded the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2015-16.

Here are some major highlights
  • PV Sindhu received the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award after her silver medal winning effort in Rio Olympics
  • Dipa Karmakar receives the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award after her fourth-place finish in gymnastics women's vault finals at Rio Olympics
  • Athletics coach Nagapuri Ramesh receives the Dronacharya award
  • Virat Kohli's coach Rajkumar Sharma get the Dronacharya award
  • Dipa Karmakar's coach Biseswar Nandi gets the Dronacharya award
  • Swimmer S Pradeep Kumar gets the life time achievement award for his contribution to the sports.
  • Mahavir Singh gets the lifetime achievement award for contribution to wrestling in India.
  • Archer Rajat Chauhan was the first to receive the Arjuna award from president Pranab Mukherjee
  • Lalita Babar (athletics) and Sourav Kothari (billiards and snooker), Shiva Thapa (boxing) get the Arjuna Award
  • Footballer Subrata Paul gets the Arjuna Award
  • Hockey players VR Raghunath and Rani get Arjuna for their consistent show in the last couple of years
  • Shooters Gupreet Singh and Apurvi Chandela honored with the Arjuna Award. They represented India at Rio Olympics
  • Sylvanus Dung Dung gets the Dhyan Chand Award
  • Rajendra Prahlad Shelke (rowing) gets the Dhyan Chand Award
  • Tenzing Norgay award given to Nungshi and Tashi Malik, The twin sisters have scaled seven major peaks of the world
  • The Selection Committee for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and the Arjuna Award was headed by Justice S.K. Agarwal, retired Delhi High Court Judge.
    The Selection Committee for the Dronacharya Award and the Dhyan Chand Award was headed by M.C. Mary Kom
Here is the Full list of awardees :
  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2016
    • P.V. Sindhu - Badminton
    • Sakshi Malik  - Wrestling
    • Dipa Karmakar - Gymnastics
    • Jitu Rai - Shooting
  • Dronacharya Award 2016
    • Nagapuri Ramesh - Athletics
    • Sagar Mal Dhayal - Boxing
    • Raj Kumar Sharma - Cricket
    • Bishweshwar Nandi - Gymnastics
    • S. Pradeep Kumar - Swimming (lifetime)
    • Mahabir Singh - Wrestling (lifetime)
  • Arjuna Award 2016
    • Rajat Chauhan - Archery
    • Lalita Babar - Athletics
    • Sourav Kothari - Billiards and Snooker
    • Shiva Thapa - Boxing
    • Ajinkya Rahane - Cricket
    • Rani - Hockey
    • Subrata Paul - Football
    • V R Raghunath - Hockey
    • Gurpreet Singh - Shooting
    • Apurvi Chandela - Shooting
    • Soumyajit Ghosh  - Table Tennis
    • Vinesh Poghat - Wrestling
    • Amit Kumar - Wrestling
    • Sandeep Singh Mann - Para-Athletics
    • Virender Singh - Wrestling (deaf)
  • Dhyan Chand Award 2015
    • Satti Geetha - Athletics
    • Sylvanus Dung Dung - Hockey
    • Rajendra Pralhad Shelke - Rowing
Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awardees will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh. The Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each.

sponsored links

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...