Search your Topic HERE....

September 04, 2012

Current Affairs - Sports - August

Leave a Comment

sponsored links

South Africa stood as the World’s Number One Test Cricket team replacing England. The feat was achieved after its 2-0 victory over England in the three Test-match series, which ended at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London on 21 August 2012. Australia and Pakistan stood at third and forth positions. India stands on fifth position.

World number one Roger Federer defeated Novak Djokovic 6-0 7-6 to win his sixth ATP Cincinnati Msters title of the year. In the women’s singles China's Li Na defeated German Angelique Kerber 1-6 6-3 6-1 to win the title.The sixth seeded Indian pair of Mahesh Bhupathi and Rohan Bopanna lost in the finals by Sweden's Robert Lindstedt and Romania's Horia Tecau 4-6, 4-6 in straight sets.

Six sporting coaches were recommended for the Dronacharya Awards 2012. Wrestling coach Yashvir Singh, Boxing Coach BI Fernandez, Athletics Coach Virender Poonia, Kabaddi Coach Sunil Davas, Parathletics Coach Dr. Satyapaul and Hockey Coach Harinder Singh are the six names who have been selected for the coveted award.The Dronacharya Award was instituted by the government of India in 1985. The award carries five lakh rupees and a citation and is conferred to coaches of different sports for their noteworthy contribution. The awards will be presented by President Pranab Mukherjee at Rashtrapati Bhawan on 29 August 2012, the National Sports Day.

Union government announced the Arjuna awards on 19 August in New Delhi.25 sportsperson will be awarded Arjuna Awards this year, while Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna will be jointly given to vijay kumar and yogeshwar dutt.President of India will grant them awards at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29. Selection committee was headed by Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore. Vijay Kumar won a silver in the 25m rapid fire event and Yogeshwar won a bronze in 60kg free style event. They both will be awarded with cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakh each along with medal and a citation. Yuvraj Singh will be awarded with the Arjuna Award.Arjuna Awardees will receive statuettes, citations and cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each.Normally only 1 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award is given every year to an individual sportsperson and for the Arjuna Awards not more than 15 awards are to be given in any calendar year.However in certain conditions the rules can be relaxed. 25 sportsperson for Arjuna Awards 2012 are: Deepika Kumari (Archery), Laishram Bombayla Devi (Archery), Sudha Singh (Athletics),Kavita Ramdas Raut (Athletics), Ashwani Ponnappa (Badminton), Parupalli Kashyap (Badminton), Aditya S Mehta (Billiards and Snooker), Vikas Krishan (Boxing), Yuvraj Singh (cricket),Sardar Singh (Hockey), Yashpal Solanki (Judo), Anup Kumar (Kabaddi), Samir Suhag (Polo), Annu Raj Singh (Shooting), Omkar Singh (Shooting), Joydeep Karmakar (Shooting), Dipika Pallikal (Squash), Sandeep Sejwal (Swimming), Ng. Sonia Chanu (Weightlifting), Narsingh Yadav (Wrestling), Rajinder Kumar (Wrestling), Geeta Phogat (Wrestling), M. Bimoljit Singh (Wushu), Deepa Mallick (Athletics Paralympics), Ramkaran Singh (Athletics Paralympics). 

Veteran Indian batsman VVS Laxman announced on 18 August that he would be retiring from international cricket with immediate effect."It's been 16 years since I have made my international debut for India and I think it is the right time to move on," said an emotional Laxman after announcing his retirement in Hyderabad. Laxman was also picked for the forthcoming India-New Zealand two-Test series but the stylish Hyderabadi stunned the cricket fraternity by calling it quits with immediate effect. Laxman has played 134 Tests, amassing 8,781 runs at an average of 45.97 and hitting 17 hundreds. The Hyderabadi has pouched 135 Test catches too.
Test debut: vs South Africa at Ahmedabad, 1996 M - 134; Runs - 8,781; Avg - 45.97; 100s - 17; Top Score - 281 
ODI debut: vs Zimbabwe at Cuttack, 1998 M - 81; Runs - 2,338; Avg - 30.76; 100s - 6; Top Score – 131 

The U.S. Anti-Doping Agency (USADA) erased 14 years of Lance Armstrong’s career on 24 august, including his record seven Tour de France titles, and banned him for life from the sport that made him the hero of millions of cancer survivors, after concluding he used banned substances. The USADA said it expected cycling’s governing body to take similar action, but the International Cycling Union (ICU) was measured in its response, saying it first wanted a full explanation on why Armstrong should relinquish the Tour de France titles he won between 1999 and 2005.Armstrong, who retired a year ago, said on that he would no longer challenge USADA and declined to exercise his option of entering arbitration. While announcing the decision, he again denied taking banned substances during his career and called the USADA’s investigation a “witch hunt” .The International Olympic Committee said it would await the USADA’s and the ICU’s decisions before taking any step against Armstrong, who won a bronze medal at the 2000 Sydney Games.

0 Responses:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...